"Double Bump City" - ASU Rocks Stanford

Sir Donald

Reaction score
"Double, double, toil and trouble" - Macbeth

The goose bumps finally came back to me like old friends after a decades long absence during overtime in the first Arizona game this year in Wells Fargo Arena. After 35 plus years of following Sun Devil basketball it was an old but still familiar feeling to get a visit from the little suckers as they popped up all over me while I sat in the nosebleeds and screamed my head off like I was a student again. Last night in OT against Stanford I had goose bumps on top of goose bumps. It was Double Bump City baby....

I was nearly doubled over with excitement near the end of the final five minutes when I suddenly realized that something even more impossible was happening than beating a short handed U of A team twice. We had a chance to beat a full strength Cardinal team and the doublemint twins, ranked number seven nationally and tied for first in the PacTen, without center Jeff Pendergraph in OT. JP was the man on fire in the second Arizona game and without him in the middle, tonight of ALL nights, the game had seemingly turned to ashes.

It had been a rollercoaster of emotions already with very high highs and even lower lows as I looked down at the court from my much better row thirteen seats this time around. The double fist in my stomach was nearly nauseating earlier in the game as the double vision nightmare that was the seven foot Lopez brothers began to pull away from us in the second half during a 24-2 run that nearly broke our will and put them up by 13. An intimate Valentine's Day date with those two beasts was not what the Devils were hoping for at this point in their season.