- Joined
- May 8, 2002
- Posts
- 398,365
- Reaction score
- 43
In general, this year's men's NCAA tournament has lacked the last-second drama that we're used to seeing in March Madness. But Sunday's second-round matchup between No. 12 seed Colorado State and No. 4 seed Maryland delivered on that front and then some.
It had its share of controversy as well.
After Colorado State took the lead on a Jalen Lake three-pointer with six seconds to go, Maryland went iso out of the timeout to Derik Queen. The freshman center took on a defender and banked in a shot for the win at the buzzer. Fans, though, were convinced that Queen should have been called for a travel.
But in the postgame coverage, CBS rules expert Gene Steratore — who was both a former NFL and college hoops ref — explained why Queen's drive to the basket was totally legal.
In Steratore's view, when Queen's dribble was technically considered over, he took the permitted two steps to the basket and into his shot. The first step, which drew plenty of the complaints, was still part of the dribble as Queen gathered and briefly bobbled the ball.
It was close, but Queen didn't commit a traveling violation. And it would have taken something blatant for a ref to call it in that situation.
This article originally appeared on For The Win: Gene Steratore explained why Derik Queen’s game-winning shot for Maryland wasn’t a travel
Continue reading...
It had its share of controversy as well.
After Colorado State took the lead on a Jalen Lake three-pointer with six seconds to go, Maryland went iso out of the timeout to Derik Queen. The freshman center took on a defender and banked in a shot for the win at the buzzer. Fans, though, were convinced that Queen should have been called for a travel.
But in the postgame coverage, CBS rules expert Gene Steratore — who was both a former NFL and college hoops ref — explained why Queen's drive to the basket was totally legal.
“To me, it just really doesn’t jump off the screen as anything big.” - @GeneSteratore
Our rules analyst @GeneSteratore joins the crew to discuss the travel rule and why he doesn’t see a violation on Derik Queen before his game-winner against Colorado State. pic.twitter.com/krV0lTkjfD
— CBS Sports (@CBSSports) March 24, 2025
In Steratore's view, when Queen's dribble was technically considered over, he took the permitted two steps to the basket and into his shot. The first step, which drew plenty of the complaints, was still part of the dribble as Queen gathered and briefly bobbled the ball.
It was close, but Queen didn't commit a traveling violation. And it would have taken something blatant for a ref to call it in that situation.
This article originally appeared on For The Win: Gene Steratore explained why Derik Queen’s game-winning shot for Maryland wasn’t a travel
Continue reading...