Warner says he interested in rejoining Martz (Lions)

az jam

ASFN Icon
Reaction score
Lions | Warner interested in rejoining Martz?
Sat, 11 Feb 2006 08:14:13 -0800

Bernie Miklasz, of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, reports Arizona Cardinals QB Kurt Warner said he's open to the idea of rejoining Detroit Lions offensive coordinator Mike Martz in Detroit. Warner told Jeff Vernetti of KSLG (1380 AM) in an interview: "With what we did offensively, and his offensive mind, and just as an offensive football coach, I haven't been around any better (than Martz). That always would be intriguing. And knowing the (Martz) system, loving the system, and feeling like it plays into my strengths. All of those things would be plusses. They've got a lot of skill guys there (in Detroit); they've got a lot of talent there, similar to what we had in St. Louis. You look at it from that standpoint, and I think it would be really exciting. It would be fun." Martz has confided to associates that if he ever needed a quarterback in his new destination, and he needs one in Detroit, he wouldn't hesitate to bring Warner in. Warner is scheduled to be a free agent in March, unless the Arizona Cardinals re-sign him first.

OP
OP
az jam

az jam

ASFN Icon
Reaction score
Could be just a ploy to put pressure on Cards to get more money. However we may have some competition for Warner. Should be interesting.

Last edited:
OP
OP
az jam

az jam

ASFN Icon
Reaction score
So the question is who will be the Cards starting qb if we lose Warner in free agency to the Lions??

CardinalChris

Big Man Himself
Reaction score
Warner is happy to play for whoever plays. Don't kid yourself. Saying "Nah, I want to stay in AZ" would drive the contract down a couple of grand, so of course he says this. IF he hits the open market, then I worry. Right now I neither care or believe anything he says because he HAS to say "Sure".

CardinalChris

Big Man Himself
Reaction score
az jam said: