azirish

ASFN Lifer
Reaction score
http://www.azcentral.com/sports/suns/articles/0710suns0711.html

Suns want Banks to lead

Paul Coro
The Arizona Republic
Jul. 10, 2007 10:26 PM
LAS VEGAS - Marcus Banks scored 42 points in a game Monday and missed one shot in a scrimmage Tuesday.

Banks is being more vocal, directing on-court traffic and giving off-court encouragement to the rookies and raw hopefuls on Phoenix's NBA Summer League team.

Yet, it is still a work in progress with Banks, a point guard Phoenix sought to trade in February and again last month. He's in the first year of a five-year, $21 million deal.

Banks has more talent than most of the players here. He is fast, strong and can be a defensive menace. And if he shot last season like he has this week, he might not have fallen out of the rotation.

The trick for Phoenix and Banks is to make him fit, whether it is to get value out of him in games or by trade. It was a square peg for a round hole last season when Banks had the worst plus-minus ratio of any Suns regular. Even in Banks' finest moments the team did not always thrive, just as Phoenix lost Monday despite Banks' league-record tally.

"It's learning that fine line between being able to get team productivity and being able to contribute offensively," said Suns assistant Phil Weber, the summer team's head coach.

Banks gets that. He always has been good about stating what he should do. Executing the concept is the next step.

"Basically, just running my team," Banks said of what he needs to get out of summer play. "That's what I want to focus on. I know I can score at will and do those things but I also want these young guys to understand it's more than just scoring. It's about a team. It's about encouragement and having fun out there."